Sparkle

So, feeling crappy about being misled about something important, and being used as a pawn in someone else’s fucked up power struggle, I was forced to tug up my big girl pants to drive Lamp to rehearsal. Because shit needs to be done even when all I want to do is hide under a blanket.

Anyhow, he wanted a sandwich, and traffic was normal-horrid, so I dropped him off across the street from Subway so he could run in. I handed him all the cash I had in my pocket, and he grabbed the ten and left the ones in the car. I saw that before he was able to cross the street he was stopped by a (probably) homeless man, who he talked to for about 30 seconds, and then went to get his sandwich.

I considered for a moment and then decided, what the hell… I don’t have the power to make my crappy situation any better, but I can give that man a dollar. So I pulled up next to him, rolled down my window, and offered him one of the dollars I had left. He approached the car with what I can only describe as a look of stunned surprise. He took the dollar, reached into his pocket and handed me a crumpled up napkin and told me to open it. He said some other things too, but a combination of a southern accent, homeless man mumble, and what looked like several missing teeth made him pretty incomprehensible. I opened the napkin, wondering if I had just inadvertently made a drug buy, and there was a pretty, sparkly piece of cut glass. It was basically a rhinestone, faceted on top and painted metallic on the bottom. But it was a nice rhinestone. Pretty. Nice to hold and look at.

He insisted that I take it. I asked him if he really, really meant that? We chatted for a while. He said he is a musician, named (I think) Jimmy Joe, and he said to look for him on YouTube. He asked me why I gave him a dollar, and I said because he was talking to my son, who I knew did not have change, but that he was nice to him. I told him my son plays guitar. Then I gave him the other two dollars.

He asked me if I was married, and flatteringly acted devastated when I said I was. He was a rogue, but I like rogues. He was a human being, and talking to him made me feel more like one. When Lamp came back to the car with his sandwich, Jimmy opened the car door for him and told him to take care of his mama. Then he went and directed traffic so that I was able to pull back out into the commute time madness.

I haven’t looked on YouTube. I’m not sure I got the name right, and I’m not even sure I want to check. I’d rather think he is there, an awesome blues man, and that he kissed my hand. I am going to keep that rhinestone in my pocket for a while.

Leave a Reply

